Inside Look

Golden Apple Award Winner

I am pleased to share with you that Cathy Andersen was selected as the 2015 Golden Apple Award recipient from the EKU College of Health Sciences last evening at the awards ceremony. Ms. Andersen was nominated by four students.

EKU's President's Leadership In Action Academy

Congratulations to Dr. Michelyn Bhandari on being selected to participate in the EKU President's Leadership in Action Academy.

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

Tori Caldwell was selected as the 2015 recipient of the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship. Tori will be studying abroad this summer research maternal and child health issues. Congrats Tori.

Dean's Award

Sarah LeBrun selected as one of two College of Health Sciences Dean's Award recipients. Congrats Sarah.

HSA 412s Service Learning Projects

Health Service Administration Program – Service Learning Fall 2014


HEA 290 Fall 2014 Clark Moore Middle School Health Fair

Health Fair

HEA 290 class was out in full force educating middle school students on the dangers of bad health choices.  One of the many ways our students give back!

Latino Health Fair 2014

Some of our students took part in the Latino Health Fair 2014 by doing blood pressure checks, BMI screenings, and giving health tips. Participants from left to right Emily Bashford, Dr. Phyllis Bryden, Paige Morgan, Chase Barnes Dr. Laurel Mills Schwartz and Jailyn Stevenson.

Clark-Moore Middle School 2014 Health Fair by EKU Public Health

Students went to Clark Moore Middle School on April 11, 2014 to talk on a variety of topics for this age group.  They did a great job!!

2014 Student Award Banquet






Health Services Administration

Scholastic Excellence Award ……………………Caleb Cobane

Dr. Laurie Larkin Named 2014 KAHPERD Teacher of the Year

Dr. Laurie Larkin

Dr. Laurie Larkin, assistant professor of public health, was named the KAHPERD 2014 College/University Health Education Teacher of the Year. A member of the EKU faculty since 2010, she holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-River Hills, a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, and a doctoral degree from Purdue University.